The Oyster Bar – Chuckanut Drive

I love going for great scenic drives all over Washington state especially during the summertime…whether it be Hwy 20 to Winthrop or driving through Whidbey Island to Deception Pass.  One of my FAVorites for many years is called Chuckanut Drive in Skagit County.  Chuckanut Drive is along a cliffhanger road with spectacular views of Samish Bay and the San Juans.  While I was driving I noticed a restaurant called The Oyster bar and I love oysters so I must go inside :)  A great romantic lodge style restaurant and an excellent patio where you are surrounded by fir trees and surreal sea views.  They have a cozy indoor dining area with two floors, but it was a nice sunny day out so I dined on their patio.  They have a great list of Oysters on a half shell so I tried the Baker’s dozen($30) that included the Samish Bay Pacific, Penn Cove Select, Fanny Bay, and Kumamoto.  I am purist when it comes to eating raw oysters so a squeeze of lemon or a just a splash of mignonette is ideal.  All were great along with my favorites, the Kumamoto…plump, mildly sweet, and succulent. 

Top clockwise: Fanny Bay, Samish Bay Pacific, Kumamoto, Penn Cove Select

Top clockwise: Fanny Bay, Samish Bay Pacific, Kumamoto, Penn Cove Select

I always order either Champagne or a crisp, dry white wine with my oysters and tried the 2009 Sauvignon Blanc Kim Crawford from New Zealand.  Light and crisp with tropical hints of fruit.  I also love my oysters baked in many ways…I remember making my very first Oysters Rockefeller at home and it was suprisingly yummy!  I tried their Baked Oysters($15)…four Samish Bay Oysters with Boar bacon, spinach, tomatoes, dry sherry, and chives…Very tasty indeed! 

Samish Bay Baked Oysters - Oyster Bar on Chuckanut Drive

Samish Bay Baked Oysters - Oyster Bar on Chuckanut Drive

Next on my list that I definitely want to try is their California Red Abalone, thin slices flash sauteed with hazelnut lime butter. This sounds great as I never had Abalone before.  Also, the Maine Lobster Tails sounds soo good…butter poached and grilled with gremolata garni and Yuzu honey butter sauce.  Yum!  Gremolata is an Italian mix of minced parsley, lemon peel and garlic.  I highly recommend dining on their patio as it has excellent views of Samish Bay and the San Juan Islands.  They even bring out comfy blankets as the night draws near.  Overall, I immensely enjoyed The Oyster Bar on Chuckanut Drive for their fresh oysters, great bay views, and not to be forgotten…an excellent drive!

The Oyster Bar on Chuckanut Drive

The Oyster Bar on Chuckanut Drive

The Oyster Bar on Chuckanut Drive website: http://www.theoysterbaronchuckanutdrive.com/

Address: 2578 Chuckanut Drive  Bow, WA  98232

Hours: Lunch daily 11:30am-4pm, Dinner daily 4pm-10pm

Contact:  360 766-6185

3 Responses to “The Oyster Bar – Chuckanut Drive”

  1. While on a drive up chuckanut I took your advice and stopped in at Oyster Bay as I was craving oysters. It was a beautiful day so I decided to sit on the patio and the view was incredible! The dozen oyster sampler was perfect. Thanks for the recommendation, as this was another great suggestion!

  2. Hi,

    My partner and I just launched a new website last week (restauranteers.com). We are just starting to reach out to local food bloggers now to see if there is a way we can help one another.

    Let me know if you would be interested in talking. Looking forward to it,

    Edward

  3. We’re glad that you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

