Seastar – South Lake Union

One of my FAVorite seafood restaurants over the bridge has finally opened another in South Lake Union….Seastar!  I have been a major fan of Seastar in Bellevue for many years and I am very excited that they settled with South Lake Union.  The menu is almost exactly the same as the one in Bellevue.  The only slight difference is the raw bar has a lot more selections!  The raw bar has a great range of “raw” food so to speak…..oysters, ceviche, and sushi served maki style. 

I was invited to a family celebration and I was so excited that I wanted to order all my fav dishes, but alas I wanted to save my appetite for my ultimate FAVorite entree that only comes 2 months out of the year ;)  I decided to try my usual favorite, the Sesame-Peppercorn Crusted Ahi($14.5)….crusted with white and black sesame seeds and black peppcorns that is seared rare, served on top is daikon-carrot salad with ginger-soy reduction and wasabi cream.  Loved the textures and the suttle spices on the Ahi. 

Sesame-Peppercorn Crusted Ahi - Seastar South Lake Union

Sesame-Peppercorn Crusted Ahi - Seastar South Lake Union

For dinner I never had steak before at Seastar hence seafood restaurant so I decided to try the USDA Prime Top Sirloin($29) that was grilled a perfect juicy medium rare…my favorite…with herb roasted red potatoes, grilled red onion, garlic portabella mushroom, and Maytag blue cheese….Yum!  I complimented my steak with a bottle of 2000 Henri Bonneau Chateauneuf du Pape Reserve des Celestins wine($525) from the Southern Rhone Valley of France.  Henri Bonneau’s wines consist of a Rhone blend of at least 90% Grenache and the rest Mourvedre, Counoise, and Vaccarese.  A phenomenal wine!
 USDA Prime Top Sirloin - Seastar South Lake Union

USDA Prime Top Sirloin - Seastar South Lake Union

Henri Bonneau Réserve des Célestins, Châteauneuf du Pape, 2000 - Seastar

Henri Bonneau Réserve des Célestins, Châteauneuf du Pape, 2000 - Seastar

Lastly, my all time FAVorite entree that I saved the best for last is the Applewood Grilled Copper River King Salmon(market price)….it is grilled over Applewood with butter, vermouth, and lemon and served with truffle-tomatoes and rosemary fingerling potatoes.  It was excellent…as always! I loved the hint of fruity and mild flavors of the apple with the salmon.  They also have the salmon roasted over Cedar plank which I had in the past.  A very subtle and smoky flavor, but I love a mild and fruity flavor to my salmon and grilling over Applewood was the best!  Also, one key thing to remember is that Copper River salmon is only available May to June.  Of course every Seattleite like me knows this so I definitely came to Seastar just in time…

Applewood Grilled Copper River King Salmon - Seastar South Lake Union

Applewood Grilled Copper River King Salmon - Seastar South Lake Union

Seastar will most definitely be a great addition to South Lake Union.  In terms of parking it is free at lunch with validation and $2 during dinner.  Seastar is quite easy to find as it is located right above Whole Foods and right next to Pan Pacific Hotel in South Lake Union.  Overall, I immensely enjoyed the Applewood Copper River King salmon, excellent Chateauneuf du Pape wine, and always the best customer service at Seastar…always!

Seastar restaurant and Raw bar website:  http://www.seastarrestaurant.com/seattle.php?page=Home

Address:  2121 Terry Ave, Suite 108 Seattle, WA  98121 (South Lake Union)

Hours:  Mon-Fri 11:30am-2:30pm (Lunch), Mon-Sat 5pm-10pm, Sun 5pm-9pm (Dinner), Mon-Fri 4-6pm, Sun 5-10pm (Happy Hour)

Contact:  206 462-4364

3 Responses to “Seastar – South Lake Union”

  1. surfseatown Says:

    South Lake Union is definitely the hip place to be these days:) I’d love to have some Copper River King! Sounds delicious:)

  2. belltowngirl Says:

    I second that! You would love Copper River salmon ;)

  3. jbluebmw Says:

    You have great taste in wine and food! I’ve tried some of your suggestions and they were excellent! Thank you and looking forward to your next post :)

Leave a Reply

